News + stories

2020 NSW Environmental Education Award Winners Announced!

We were thrilled to celebrate our 2020 NSW Environmental Education Awards during an online event on 5 November. AAEE NSW Patron, Costa Georgiadis and The Hon. Matt Kean MP, Minister for Energy and Environment lent their support to the event and over 60 people joined in online to hear the winners announced.

Watch a special video message from Costa here

Watch the Minister’s announcement of the inaugural Return and Earn Program Leader Award here

Each year these awards promote and recognise individuals, organisations and programs in NSW that have provided leadership and inspiration to others while contributing to quality environmental education. 2020 was our largest awards ever, with five new categories awarded and our highest number of nominations received since the awards began.

Sue Martin, President of AAEE NSW remarked “We were thrilled with the number of high calibre nominations received in 2020. It just goes to show the extent of quality environmental education that is occurring across the state in schools, early learning centres, tertiary institutions, government and in the community. The assessment process was incredibly difficult and while each of our winners should be so proud of what they have achieved, every nominee deserves to be celebrated.”

The following winners and highly commended nominees were announced at the event:

Tertiary Educator of the Year Award and Overall 2020 NSW Environmental Educator of the Year Award

Winner – Professor Lesley Hughes, Macquarie University

Early Childhood Educator of the Year Award

Winner – Ashleigh Spillane, Bradman Road Early Education Centre

Highly Commended:

  • Rachel Altenbacher, Earth Angels Childcare Service
  • Katie Vander Donk, Explore & Develop Annandale
  • Fay Knibbs, KU Children’s services

Community Educator of the Year Award

Winner – Guido Verbist, The Bower Reuse and Repair Centre

Highly Commended:

  • Chay Khamsone, Impact Environmental Education

Government Educator of the Year Award

Winner – Julia Strykowski, NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service

Highly Commended:

  • Tracy Ward, Muswellbrook Shire Council
  • Michaela Beattie, Campbelltown City Council
  • Anni Griffiths, Central Coast Council

Sustainable Schools NSW Teacher of the Year Award

Winner – Christopher Yates, Ryde Secondary College

Highly Commended:

  • Julie Rogers, Lucas Heights Community School
  • Jill Bell, Royal National Park EEC
  • Tim Bellamy, Petersham Public School
  • Michael Halliday, Mater Maria College

Return and Earn Program Leader Award

Winner – Julie Rogers, Lucas Heights Community School

Highly Commended:

  • Tamara Jurinic, Prestons Public School

Sustainable Schools NSW School of the Year Award

Winner – Dapto High School

Highly Commended:

  • Lucas Heights Community School
  • Goolmangar Public School
  • Bronte Public School

Take Me Outside NSW Excellence Award

Winner – Seaforth Public School, Garden Frog Pond Project

Highly Commended:

  • Lane Cove Council, Lane Cove Bush Kids Program

Read more about each of the winners here

A series of articles and case studies will be developed over the coming months showcasing the work of the 2020 award nominees and winners.

Congratulations to all our 2020 award recipients!

Seaforth Public School are announced as the winners of the Take Me Outside NSW Excellence Award

You might also enjoy